Historic city centre hotel re-opens following major refresh
The Judge’s Lodging in central York has re-opened following a refurbishment to the Grade 1 listed building costing more than half a million pounds.
The iconic hotel, which dates to 1710, has seen its bedrooms, bars and dining rooms spruced up with a fresh new look. The Judge’s Lodging closed for five weeks in January to bring the property’s interiors and overall guest experience up to a level that reflects its historic features, prime location and 5-star status.
Part of the House of Daniel Thwaites, The Judge’s Lodgings’ newly upgraded bedrooms have individual character, bespoke furniture and luxury touches like spa baths. The dining areas feature smart new furnishings and a new restaurant menu has been introduced to reflect a high-end, more formal dining environment for special occasions. Downstairs, the cellar bar offers a relaxed, gastro-pub experience with classic dishes and a wide selection of drinks, from expert cocktails to Thwaites’ traditional ales.
Owner Daniel Thwaites PLC acquired the historic Georgian Townhouse in 2012 and re-opened the hotel in 2014 following a huge refurbishment involving consultation with conservationists and archaeologists. This most recent work brings the total investment in The Judge’s Lodging to more than £4million. Daniel Thwaites’ Executive Chairman, Rick Bailey commented: “The Judge’s Lodging is a wonderful property with a fascinating story that’s a real draw to people who want to come and see all that the building has to offer. Since 2012 we’ve invested millions of pounds into major upgrades to protect and conserve this historic property – it has been a huge success and this latest work will allow people to continue to enjoy it for years to come with a really high quality, rich customer experience.”
“After five busy years the time had come to brighten up the inside whilst really raising the bar on what our customers can expect from us. We have been through a complete rethink of what our guests want and will be delivering a five-star service – I have no doubt that people will love the new look Judge’s Lodging.”
The Judge’s Lodging has a history that dates back to the early 1700s when it was built as a private residence. In 1806 the building became the Judges’ House and the current double geometrical wooden staircase was added, along with service quarters. In 1851 there was a further addition of a secure passageway to allow the Judges to exit their carriage straight into the house without being seen, giving them additional privacy at a time when Judges were regularly the targets of violence due to their roles.